Reflections

I was walking around and saw a reflection...

I was walking around and saw a reflection...

This gave me pause for a moment. Because I have water reflections turned off, and because the water level in this sim is far, far below the ground. So I started moving my camera around, trying to figure out how this was done…

And this is what I found...

And this is what I found...

The entire scene was mirrored and duplicated on the other side of the floor prim. 🙂 Horribly inefficient, but striking all the same.

Take a look.

3 thoughts on “Reflections

  1. You don’t go shopping a lot, Rika? I shall take you to some shops then. Almost all of the larger shops use this technique for almost a year now to simulate shiny marble floors and suchlike. Usually the “mirrored” part is not an exact 1:1 copy, and sometimes it has some funny effects when the layout on top has changed but the mirror half was not updated. Let me see if I find examples.

  2. Actually, I shop quite a bit, but, apparently, in extremely different places, because that is the first time I stumbled on that trick. 🙂

Comments are closed.