Atlas Project

I’ve mentioned this before, though, not in the blog. A few days ago, I kicked the atlas generation process and forgot about it. In the process of generating the starmap, the map generator separates clusters, so it dumps a list of all continental scale clusters and where they are located, for later use. The atlas generation process takes that list, and grabs slurl.com map tiles to stitch them into per-continent files. I’m thinking about making a planetarium-like product that will be an auto-updating atlas of continents suitable for sailors and aviators, with appropriate markup, and for this to work effectively, it needs to start with the highest possible map resolution — as everyone well knows, enlarging images does not produce the lost information out of thin air, and the more interesting image effects will necessarily involve using all the resolution I can get.

Well, I forgot about it, fully expecting ImageMagick to choke on most of mainland anyway, (which is one of the major expected snags on this path) but apparently, I should have given it more credit, as it only choked on the bigger, newer continents, so now I have the highest possible resolution map of Sansara and Heterocera for my efforts. At a whopping 13056×15104 pixels, it’s 20 megabytes when saved as JPG. Big enough to use in something like OziExplorer, if such a program existed for SL. 🙂

That's just tiny thumbnail. :)

That's just tiny thumbnail. 🙂

You can have it if you like, though, I didn’t want to burden my offworld server with this traffic and used a file sharing service to keep it.

Get it from drop.io.

P.S. More of them!

Northern part
Southern part

